"Dont Ask, Dont Tell", he did !

Published on by Idriss Kane

                                                                                       Iraqi Veteran Anthony Woods


" Woods said his personal belief system prompted him to disclose that he is gay to his commanding officer last summer, during his sixth year in the military and shortly after he completed his studies at the Kennedy School under an Army educational program. The disclosure triggered an investigation by the Army that led to his honorable discharge last December.

The discharge came nearly four years after Woods completed his first tour of duty in Iraq as a second lieutenant in charge of a 17-member combat unit from 2004 to 2005 for which he was awarded an Army Commendation Medal. He led a 64-soldier combat unit on his second tour in Iraq from 2005 to 2006. The Army awarded him a Bronze Star for his service on that tour.

“I loved my career in the military and I was really looking forward to continuing that career,” Woods said. “But my time at Harvard provided me an opportunity to recognize and to fully come to terms with who I was. I started to realize that it is not at all worth going back to a life of lies and being dishonest to my commanders, to my soldiers, to my peers. It was something I was no longer willing to do and something I don’t think other members of the LGBT community who serve in the military should do.”
The Washington blade


follow Anthony on Twitter

Published on OPINIONS

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post